Jingle Bell 5k – December Race Recap

jingle

To say I finished strong for the 2015 race calendar would be an understatement. MT and I ran the Skagit Valley Jingle Bell 5k in early December and wowee-wee-wah. We both PR’d AGAIN.

My time of 31:26 was almost 3 minutes faster than my previous PR. I was on fire. In addition to a nice mostly flat course, the weather was cool, and I started in the front of the pack and kept up with some speedy runners. Having PR’d in the previous two races, I was feeling motivated to push myself hard in this race and was really aiming for a PR. Whodathunkit.

You might ask yourself, as I have been, what is going on?! Well, I’ll address this in a future post so stay tuned, but let me say that I realize I’m unlikely to touch this race PR any time soon. The course was just a bit shy of an actual 5k (3.05mi by my GPS watch) but I’m not going to let that last .05 get in the way of my celebrating this achievement.  Even if the course had been correctly measured, my time would have had approximately an additional 20 seconds, which would still be a huge PR.

Now, it’s time to set new running goals for 2016! I’m pondering a few things and will let you all know as soon as I’ve decided!

Have you sent 2016 running goals yet? What are they? 

 

One Comment on “Jingle Bell 5k – December Race Recap”

  1. Anna says:

    That was an awesome race because we kicked butt. However, the organizers forever let us down by not giving us our mugs. We will get them one day!!


Leave a Reply

